Competency Standards Development


In the pursuit of integrity and quality of its training delivery and outputs characterized as “Tatak ng Integridad, Serbisyong Dekalidad, Kaagapay sa Pag-unlad,” TESDA ensures that its programs and projects conform to the standards and systems set and developed and that they are aligned with and meet the requirements of industries and the labor markets. The Training Regulations promulgated by the TESDA Board serve as bases in the registration of TESD programs as well as in assessing a TESD graduate or a skilled worker’s competence to do the job. There are currently four levels of qualifications, namely: National Certificate (NC) I, NC I, NC II, NC III, and NC IV.

• List of Promulgated Training Regulations (TR)

• List of Competency Based Curriculum (CBC)

Assessment and Certification


Competency Assessment and Certification Program serves to elevate the status of and professionalize skilled occupations. Passing the competency assessment confirms that a TESD graduate or a worker of a particular qualification can demonstrate the standards of competence expected at the workplace. Now more and more employers require job applicants to present the TESDA certification before considering them for the job. A National Certificate serves as a badge to attest that the individual belongs to the league of elite skilled workers called TESDA Specialistas.

Program Registration and Accreditation 

Unified TVET Program Registration and Accreditation System (UTPRAS) provides that any technical vocational institution (TVI) must first apply for and be issued a Certificate of Program Registration (CoPR) before it can offer a course and accept enrolees. An individual intending to enroll in a TESD Program is also advised to first ask if the course he intends to enroll in has been issued a CoPR by TESDA.

Program registration is compulsory. It prescribes compliance to the minimum standards set in the Training Regulations which are anchored on a competency based system. Program registration entails full compliance with prevailing training standards, correction of sub-standard ones and denial for those which fail to comply. TESDA conducts regular audits and inspection visits of schools and training centers to ensure their continuous compliance to standards.

Accreditation, on the other hand, is voluntary. An institution assesses its operations and program and seeks an independent evaluation of an authorized accrediting agency to confirm and attest to the achievement of its objectives. The assessment also looks at how the institution fares compared with other institutions in pursuing quality in its systems and procedures. It is a formal recognition granted for a number or all the components of quality systems in the institution’s operations.

Frequently Asked Questions on Unified TVET Program Registration and Accreditation System (UTPRAS)